Skip to content
GA

Georgia Real Estate Agent License

Complete requirements guide for Georgia

75 hrs
Pre-License Hours
$345
Listed Fees
6-14 wks
Timeline
36 hrs
CE per 4 yrs
1

Pre-Licensing Education

Complete 75 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved provider.

Required Courses (75 hours total):

  • • Real Property Definitions
  • • Property Valuation
  • • Contracts
  • • Financing
  • • Georgia Real Estate Law

Applicants may take the exam at age 17 but cannot activate license until age 18.

2

State Examination

Exam Name

Georgia Real Estate Salesperson Examination

Provider

PSI

Format

152 scored questions (100 national + 52 state) plus up to 5 pretest questions; 4 hours total

Passing Score

75% on each section

Exam Fee

$175

Retake Policy: Must apply for license within 12 months of passing exam or retake exam

3

Background Check

Type: Criminal background check

4

Sponsoring Broker

Must work under a licensed Georgia real estate broker

Fee Breakdown

Examination Fee $175
License Fee $170
Listed Fees $345

Listed fees cover the $175 examination and $170 original license. Education and required criminal-history report charges are additional.

License Renewal

Renewal Cycle

Every 4 years

Renewal Fee

$125

CE Required

36 hours

Online Renewal

Yes

36 hours of continuing education required every 4 years (includes 3-hour license law course)

Standard renewal is $125; eligible online renewal is $100.

License Reciprocity

Applicants with a current license in good standing obtained by examination in another state may qualify for reciprocity. Florida residents must pass the Georgia state examination. Other application requirements still apply.

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Upgrade to Broker

Requires 3 years experience as salesperson plus 60 hours broker pre-license course

  • • 3 years experience required
  • • 60 additional education hours
  • • Broker exam required
Learn more about Broker License →

Last verified: 2026-01-12

View official source