Skip to content
IA

Iowa Real Estate Broker License

Requirements, fees, and steps to upgrade to broker

2 yrs
Experience Required
60 hrs
Pre-License Education
$316
Listed Fees
8-16
Weeks to License

Experience Requirements

24 months of active salesperson experience required before applying for broker license

Alternative Pathways:

Must be actively licensed as salesperson for 24 months

Education Requirements

Complete 60 hours of broker pre-license education, within 24 months prior to the exam, covering the required topic areas.

Required Courses:

  • Contract Law and Contract Writing (6 hours)
  • Iowa Real Estate Trust Accounts (6 hours)
  • Principles of Appraising and Market Analysis (6 hours)
  • Real Estate Law and Agency Law (6 hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (6 hours)
  • Federal and State Laws Affecting Iowa Practice (6 hours)
  • Real Estate Office Administration (12 hours)
  • Real Estate Technology (6 hours)
  • Ethics (6 hours)

Broker pre-license education totals 60 hours.

Find Approved Education Providers →

Broker Examination

Exam Name

Iowa Real Estate Broker Examination

Provider

PSI

Format

National (75 questions, 80 points) and state (40 questions) portions; 120 minutes national, 60 minutes state

Passing Score

75% on each portion (60/80 national, 30/40 state)

Exam Fee

$95

Retake Policy

Can schedule retake immediately after failure; $95 fee per attempt. Exam valid for 6 months.

Fees

Application Fee $0
Examination Fee $95
License Fee $170
Background Check $51
Listed Fees $316

Listed fees: license $170 + exam $95 + fingerprint screening $51 = $316. Errors and omissions insurance (cost varies) is required and excluded, so this is not a complete cost.

Process can take 4+ weeks. Background valid for 210 calendar days.

Timeline

1

Gain Salesperson Experience

Work as licensed salesperson for 24 months

2 years

2

Complete Broker Education

Complete 60 hours of broker pre-license courses

4-8 weeks

3

Complete Background Check

Submit for criminal history investigation

4+ weeks

4

Pass Broker Exam

Take and pass the PSI broker examination

1-2 weeks

5

Submit Application

Apply within 6 months of passing exam

1-2 weeks

License Renewal

Renewal Cycle

Every 3 years

Renewal Fee

$170

CE Hours Required

36 hours

Online Renewal

Available

36 hours per 3-year cycle: 8 hours law updates, 4 hours ethics, 24 hours electives. At least 12 hours must be live classroom or webinar. Renewal fee is corroborated by the issuance fee and secondary sources but not an official renewal fee table.

Reciprocity Agreements

Iowa has reciprocity with Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, and North Dakota. Reciprocal applicants may have reduced requirements.

Iowa Real Estate Commission

Apply Now

Not a Broker Yet?

Start with an agent license if you don't have the required experience.

Iowa Agent License →