Skip to content
UT

Utah Real Estate Broker License

Requirements, fees, and steps to upgrade to broker

3 yrs
Experience Required
120 hrs
Pre-License Education
$229
Listed Fees
8-16
Weeks to License

Experience Requirements

3 years full-time, licensed, active real estate experience within the past 5 years

Alternative Pathways:

  • 2 years licensed experience plus 1 year professional real estate experience from optional experience table

Must accumulate at least 60 documented experience points. Half of transactions must be for Utah properties.

Education Requirements

Complete 120 hours of approved education from a certified Real Estate Pre-Licensing School.

Required Courses:

  • Part 1: Utah Law (30 hours, including 3 hours testing)
  • Part 2: Broker Principles/Fundamentals (45 hours, including 4 hours testing)
  • Part 3: Broker Practices (45 hours, including 4 hours testing)

Course completion certificates expire after one year.

Find Approved Education Providers →

Broker Examination

Exam Name

Utah Real Estate Broker Examination

Provider

Pearson VUE

Format

General and state portions, 4 hours

Passing Score

75 on each portion (scaled)

Exam Fee

$69

Retake Policy

Must pass within one year of completing pre-licensing courses. $69 exam fee per attempt.

Fees

Application Fee $160
Examination Fee $69
Listed Fees $229

Listed fees: new-application bundle $160 + exam $69 = $229 (per the DRE fee schedule stamped effective until Dec 31, 2025; confirm the current schedule). Pre-licensing education is excluded.

$32 fingerprint processing + $10 RAP Back; included in the $160 new-application bundle below.

Timeline

1

Gain Experience

Complete 3 years active experience with 60 points

3+ years

2

Complete Broker Education

Complete 120 hours of broker courses

4-8 weeks

3

Pass Broker Exam

Pass the state licensing examination

1-2 weeks

4

Submit Application

Apply within 90 days of passing exam

4-8 weeks

License Renewal

Renewal Cycle

Every 2 years

Renewal Fee

$108

CE Hours Required

18 hours

Online Renewal

Available

18 hours of continuing education every 2 years including mandatory core topics. On-time renewal totals $108 ($66 renewal + $32 fingerprint + $10 RAP Back).

Reciprocity Agreements

Utah has reciprocity agreements with Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta, Canada. Out-of-state brokers from other states must meet all Utah requirements.

Utah Division of Real Estate

Apply Now

Not a Broker Yet?

Start with an agent license if you don't have the required experience.

Utah Agent License →